2017

The DIE strengthens and broadens infrastructures for research, politics and practice. It advances the range of research infrastructures in line with international standards and enhances services for research, politics and practice of adult education.

The department "Knowledge Transfer" provides services, which make research-based knowledge accessible as publications and a Portal for Continuing Educators to all stakeholders in adult education. It also provides the well-known competence assessment tool ProfilPASS. The department "Research Infrastructure" combines successful DIE services such Adult Education Centre and Network Statistics, adult education centre programmes and the DIE library. These services are supplemented by the collection, processing and provisions of internal and external research data.

Outlook for 2018 - Special funding: In a competitive process by the Leibniz Association, the DIE has gained special funds for additional jobs to advance its research profile and services. As of fall 2017, four Junior Research Groups with two PhD positions focus on testing academic findings in practice.

The granted minor strategical special funding increases the exisiting 49 institutional positions by 16.5 percent and thus the DIE potential. The reason for this development are the increasing expectations for research to quickly and effecitvely convey new knowledge to politics and practice. Particularly member institutions of the Leibniz Association are dedicated to conducting research for society's benefit.

2010s

2016 The institute achieves a good result in its evaluation: In July, the Leibniz Association attested to the DIE's positive development and recommended funding for further seven years. It acknowledges very good prerequisites for a successful development. For more details see the press release.

2015 Relaunch of DIE Website in responsive design.

2015 At the same time, the peer reviewed academic special interest journal "REPORT - Journal for Research on Adult Education" found a new publisher - the scientific publisher Springer VS. Under the altered title Journal for Research on Adult Education" (ZfW) it is available free of charge as an open access journal on the Springer website. An international advisory board of twelve renowned researchers augments to the publication's international visibility and reputation.

2015 wb-web: The portal for teachers in adult and continuing education went online in December. It was developed by the Berstelsmann Foundation and the DIE and continued by the DIE after March 2016.

2014 - 2017 The Board of Directors has three members: Academic Directors, Prof. Dr. Josef Schrader and Prof. Dr. Esther Winther, and Business Director, Bettina Pröger.

2013 Bettina Pröger is appointed as Business Director.

2013 In the same year, the DIE begins a process for strategy development: The DIE adapts the content-related and thematic redesign of the four research programmes in line with a model of continuing education as a multi-level system, which differentiates action levels from a teaching-learning situation to national and international political guidance. Our researchers work in the following programmes:

  • System and Politics
  • Organisation and Management
  • Programmes and Participation
  • Teaching, Learning, Counselling2011 Successful evaluation of the DIE by the Leibniz Association.

2012 Prof. Dr. Josef Schrader is appointed as Scientific Director.

2000s

Intensified research; focus:

  • professionalization of staff in continuing education
  • competence assessment
  • inclusion by continuing education
  • change in organization and structural data on continuing education.

Development of statistics on providers as well as information and evaluation services for educational institutions. Data supported reports on continuing education, preparation of data concepts which are control relevant (educational monitoring). Programme support by the federal government and the federal states (Laender) for “Lifelong Learning”. Certification of informal learning (ProfilPASS), development of procedures for quality testing (LQW).

Extension of international network i.e. assistance in the development of institutions of continuing education in Rumania and China, as well as the coordination of a ASEM network for the Professionalization of Learners.

Relocation from Frankfurt am Main to Bonn (2002). Successful evaluation of institutional work by the Leibniz Association (2004).

The institute celebrates its 50th anniversary.

Organizational adjustment to current challenges (i.e. relocation) and the complex sphere of action through organizational development, budget management, business accounting, programme oriented research structures and a cybernetic organizational model.

Board of Directors:

Scientific Director: Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Ekkehard Nuissl von Rein (Director of Board)

Director (until 2005): Prof. Dr. Klaus Meisel (Board)

Director (since 2002), Business Director (since 2006): Hans-Joachim Schuldt (Board of Directors)

1990s

Dissemination of work and services for all institutions of adult education. Renaming of Institute for Didactics of Adult Education (PAS) to “German Institute for Adult Education” (DIE). Intensification of networking activities in the German continuing training sector as well as in the international activities.

 Research focus:

  • professionalization of operational structures in the field of continuing education (topics: organization, efficiency and financing, quality);
  • professionalization of staff in continuing education by developing a training programme;
  • new media in continuing education.

Organizational and educational counseling: development of material, training and immediate local support.

Fundamental revision of DIE publications (new structure of series: Theorie und Praxis der EB, Perspektive Praxis, Studientexte für EB, Länderportrait Weiterbildung). Two new magazines: „REPORT Zeitschrift für Weiterbildung“ and „DIE Zeitschrift für Erwachsenenbildung“.

Introduction: Innovation Prize for Continuing Education.

The DIE is evaluated by Advisory Council, which recommends “continuing the institutional development which was introduced successfully”.

The institute becomes constitutionally and organizationally independent of the German Adult Education Association; founding of the association “German Institute for Adult Education” (1997); establishment of a full-time association board (members: Prof. Dr. Ekkehard Nuissl von Rein, Dr. Klaus Meisel). Outsourcing of Central Examinations Office into WBT Weiterbildungs-Testsysteme (non-profit limited liability company).

Member of Leibniz Association (formerly Blue List). Prof. Dr. Nuissl von Rein is scientific Vice-President (1998 – 2004).

Board of Directors:

Director: Prof. Dr. Hans Tietgens (until 1991), Prof. Dr. Ekkehard Nuissl von Rein (1991 – 1997, since 1998; the scientific director is also full professor at the University of Marburg), Prof. Dr. Günther Dohmen (provisional director 1997)

Vice Director: Dr. Klaus Meisel (since 1988)

1980s

The Advisory Board recommended the institute’s extension (1984) based on the essential impulse and catalytic effects by the PAS for adult educational research.

Development of publication programmes (series “Theorien und Praxis der Erwachsenenbildung“ and „berichte-materialien-planungshilfen“, documentations on the history of adult education, lose-leaf collection “Die Volkshochschule - Handbuch für die Praxis der VHS-Leiter und –Mitarbeiter”, lesson media service, service for programmes at adult education centres, course materials, certificates).

Development oriented research on educational issues concentrated on marginalized groups such as foreigners, unemployed and illiterates. By focusing its research on health and environmental education, the institute responded to social developments and challenges.

Development of library and documentation.

Board of Directors:

Director: Prof. Dr. Hans Tietgens

Vice Director: Gabriele Kallmeyer (1980), Herbert Bohn (1981 - 1982), Dr. Monika Völker (1983 - 1986), Klaus Pehl (1986 - 1987), Klaus Meisel (since 1988)

1970s

Suggestion and support of professionalization attempt by adult education centres with the development and introduction of a certificate programme (for languages as well as mathematics and science) as well as a programme for the professional introduction of educational staff and the development and publication of differentiated autodidactic material.

Development and operation of an examination centre for certification programme.

Support of research in the field of adult education; support of research projects particularly historical research.

Beginning of institutional funding by Federal Ministry for Education and Science (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Wissenschaft) in 1971 and the joint research funding by the federal government and the states – the so called “Blue List” (1976). During that decade, the institute gains political support and is able to grow significantly in terms of personnel and funding. Internal reorganization of management and system: separation of institutionally funded tasks and projects, systemization according to programme areas, certificate departments and examination centre.

Board of Directors:

Director: Prof. Dr. Hans Tietgens (since 1978 professor at University of Marburg)

Vice Director: Dr. Volker Otto (1974-1976), Albert Pflüger (1977-1978), Gabriele Kallmeyer (1979)

1960s

The publication programme is initiated; several publication series are established (Theory and Practice of Adult Education - Theorie und Praxis der Erwachsenenbildung, materials for adult education, bibliographies on adult education).

Development and introduction of statistics on adult education centres: The first official statistics refer to 1962.

Support of adult education centres and professional exchange by developing working and teaching material (specifically loose-leaf manual for directors and staff of adult education centres “Handbuch für die Praxis des VHS-Leiters und Mitarbeiters“) as well as the development and support of special commissions and working groups for various thematic fields.

Expansion of library and development of documentation and archives. Acquisition and reconditioning of estates by significant adult educators. Establishment of archive for work plans of adult education centres.

Support of academic research on topics of adult education.

Initial steps for international cooperation.

Director: Dr. Hans Tietgens (since 1960 after Dr. Strelewitz vocation to professorship for sociology at the Pedagogical University of Hanover, later University of Hanover)

1950s

Tasks (PAS Report 1959): Basic steps for the development of an institute for the

  • scientific research on adult education,
  • work development, and
  • systematic development and continuing education of staff.

During the first years, the focus is on the quality of the programmes, as well as on the instructors‘ approaches and their qualifications at adult education centres in Germany.

Establishment of a library and documentation work conducted in adult education centres.

Director: Dr. Willy Strelewitz

Letzte Änderung: 01/08/2017

Das DIE wird 60!

 

2017

Das DIE stärkt und erweitert die Infrastrukturen für Forschung, Politik und Praxis. Damit entwickeln die Verantwortlichen das Angebot für Forschungsinfrastrukturen nach internationalen Standards weiter und stärken die Dienstleistungen für Forschung, Politik und Praxis der Erwachsenenbildung.

Die Abteilung "Wissenstransfer" bietet Dienstleistungen, die forschungsbasiertes Wissen in Form von Publikationen und einem Lehrkräfteportal für alle Akteure der Erwachsenenbildung nutzbar machen. Zudem ist das bekannte Instrument zur Feststellung von Kompetenzen, der ProfilPASS, hier angegliedert. In der neu gegründeten Abteilung "Forschungsinfrastrukturen" fasst das Institut seine bewährten Infrastrukturen wie die Volkshochschul- und Verbundstatistik, das VHS-Programmarchiv und die DIE-Bibliothek zusammen. Ergänzt werden diese Serviceleistungen künftig um die Sammlung, Aufbereitung und Bereitstellung von internen und externen Forschungsdaten.

Ausblick auf 2018 - Der Sondertatbestand greift: Das DIE hat in einem wettbewerblichen Verfahren der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft zusätzliche Stellen für die Weiterentwicklung seines Forschungsprofils und seiner Dienstleistungsaufgaben eingeworben. Im Mittelpunkt steht ab Herbst 2017 die Einrichtung von vier Nachwuchsgruppen mit je zwei Doktorandenstellen, die sich auf die Erprobung wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse in der Praxis konzentrieren sollen.

Der bewilligte "kleine strategische Sondertatbestand", der die vorhandenen 49 institutionellen Stellen um 16,5 erhöht, verbessert das Potenzial des DIE erheblich. Hintergrund sind die in den letzten Jahren deutlich gestiegenen Erwartungen an die Forschung, neues Wissen schnell und wirksam an Politik und Praxis zu vermitteln. Das gilt insbesondere für Institute der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, die sich dem Ziel verpflichtet haben, "Wissenschaft zum Wohle der Gesellschaft" zu betreiben.

2010er Jahre

2016 Das Institut wird mit gutem Ergebnis evaluiert: Im Juli bescheinigt die Leibniz-Gemeinschaft dem DIE eine positive Entwicklung und empfiehlt eine Förderung des Instituts für weitere sieben Jahre. Sie sieht sehr gute Voraussetzungen für eine erfolgreiche Weiterentwicklung. Lesen Sie dazu die Pressemitteilung.

2015 Relaunch der DIE-Website im Responsive Design im Frühjahr 2015.

2015 Zur selben Zeit erhält die peer-reviewte wissenschaftliche Fachzeitschrift: "REPORT. Zeitschrift für Weiterbildungsforschung" eine neue Verlagsheimat, den Wissenschaftsverlag Springer VS. Unter dem neuen Titel "Zeitschrift für Weitberbildungsforschung" (ZfW) wird sie künftig als Open-Access-Journal auf dem Portal SpringerLink kostenfrei verfügbar sein. Mit einem international besetzten Beirat von zwölf renommierten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern wird zudem die internationale Sichtbarkeit und Reputation der Publikation erhöht.

 2015 wb-web: Im Dezember geht das Portal für Lehrende in der Erwachsenen- und Weiterbildung online. Das von der Bertelsmann Stiftung und dem DIE entwickelte Portal wird ab März 2016 ausschließlich vom DIE betrieben und weiterentwickelt.

2014 - 2017 Prof. Dr. Esther Winther leitet in einem Dreier-Gremium als Wissenschaftliche Direktorin das DIE, gemeinsam mit Prof. Dr. Josef Schrader, Wissenschaftlicher Direktor, und Bettina Pröger, Kaufmännische Direktorin.

2013 Ernennung von Bettina Pröger zur Kaufmännischen Direktorin des DIE.

2013 Im gleichen Jahr startet das DIE einen Prozess zur Strategienentwicklung: Für den inhaltlichen und thematischen Neuzuschnitt der vier Forschungsprogramme orientiert sich das DIE nun an einem Modell von Weiterbildung als Mehrebenensystem, das Handlungsebenen von der Lehr-/Lernsituation bis hin zur nationalen und internationalen politischen Steuerung unterscheidet. Unsere Wissenschaftler forschen nun in folgenden Programmen:

  • Systeme und Politik
  • Organisation und Management
  • Programme und Beteiligung
  • Lehren, Lernen, Beraten

2012 Ernennung von Prof. Dr. Josef Schrader zum Wissenschaftlichen Direktor des DIE.

2011 Erfolgreiche Evaluierung des DIE durch die Leibniz-Gemeinschaft.

 

2000er Jahre

Verstärkte Forschungsorientierung; Schwerpunkte:

  • Professionalisierung des WB-Personals,
  • Kompetenzmessung,
  • Inklusion durch WB,
  • Organisationswandel und Strukturdaten zur WB.

Ausbau der Trägerstatistik und des Informations- und Auswertungsservices für die Bildungseinrichtungen. Datengestützte Weiterbildungs-Berichterstattung (Trendbericht), Erarbeitung steuerungsrelevanter Datenkonzepte (Bildungsmonitoring). Programmträgerschaft Bund-Länder-Programm „Lebenslanges Lernen“. Zertifizierung informellen Lernens (ProfilPASS), Entwicklung von Qualitätstestierungsverfahren (LQW).

Erweiterung der internationalen Vernetzung, z.B. Mithilfe beim Aufbau von Weiterbildungsinstituten in Rumänien und China und Koordination eines ASEM Netzwerkes zur Professionalisierung von Lehrenden.

Umzug von Frankfurt am Main nach Bonn am Rhein (2002). Erfolgreiche Evaluierung der Institutsarbeit durch die Leibniz-Gemeinschaft (2004).

2007 feiert das DIE sein 50jähriges Jubiläum.

Anpassung der Organisation an die aktuellen Herausforderungen (z. B. den Umzug) und an die Komplexität des Arbeitsfeldes über Organisationsentwicklung, Budgetsteuerung, betriebswirtschaftliches Rechnungswesen, programmorientierte Forschungsstrukturen und ein kybernetisches Organisationsmodell.

Institutsleitung:

Wissenschaftlicher Direktor: Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Ekkehard Nuissl von Rein (Vorsitzender des Vorstands); Direktor (bis 2005): Prof. Dr. Klaus Meisel (Vorstand); Direktor (ab 2002), Kaufmännischer Direktor (2006 - 2012): Hans-Joachim Schuldt (Vorstand)

 

1990er Jahre

Öffnung der Arbeit und der Serviceleistungen für alle Einrichtungen der Erwachsenenbildung. Umbenennung der Pädagogischen Arbeitsstelle des Deutschen Volkshochschul-Verbandes (PAS) in „Deutsches Institut für Erwachsenenbildung“ (DIE). Verstärkung der Vernetzungsaktivitäten in der deutschen Weiterbildungslandschaft und der internationalen Arbeit des Instituts.

Schwerpunkte der wissenschaftlichen Arbeit:

  • Professionalisierung der betrieblichen Strukturen im Weiterbildungsbereich (Themenfelder: Organisation, Wirtschaftlichkeit und Finanzierung, Qualität);
  • Professionalisierung des Weiterbildungspersonals durch die Entwicklung eines Fortbildungsprogramms;
  • Neue Medien in der Weiterbildung.

Organisations- und Bildungsberatung: Entwicklung von Materialien, Fortbildung und direkte Hilfestellung vor Ort.

Grundlegende Überarbeitung der Publikationen des DIE (neue Reihenstruktur: Theorie und Praxis der EB, Perspektive Praxis, Studientexte für EB, Länderportrait Weiterbildung). Zwei neue Zeitschriften: „REPORT Zeitschrift für Weiterbildung“ und „DIE Zeitschrift für Erwachsenenbildung“.

Einführung: Preis für Innovation in der Erwachsenenbildung.

Evaluation des Wissenschaftsrats, der empfiehlt, „die erfolgreich eingeleitete Institutsentwicklung konsequent fortzuführen“.

Rechtliche Verselbständigung des Instituts und organisatorische Trennung vom Deutschen Volkshochschul-Verband; Gründung des Vereins „Deutsches Institut für Erwachsenenbildung“ (1997); Einrichtung eines hauptamtlichen Vereinsvorstands (Mitglieder: Prof. Dr. Ekkehard Nuissl von Rein, Dr. Klaus Meisel). Ausgliederung der Abteilung Prüfungszentrale in eine gemeinnützige GmbH (WBT Weiterbildungs-Testsysteme).

Mitgliedschaft in der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft (vormals „Blaue Liste“). Prof. Dr. Nuissl von Rein bekleidet das Amt des wissenschaftlichen Vizepräsidenten (1998 bis 2004).

Institutsleitung:

Direktor: Prof. Dr. Hans Tietgens (bis 1991), Prof. Dr. Ekkehard Nuissl von Rein (1991 bis 1997 und ab 1998; die wissenschaftliche Leitung des Instituts ist nun mit einer ordentlichen Professur an der Universität Marburg verknüpft), Prof. Dr. Günther Dohmen (komm. 1997); Stellv. Direktor: Dr. Klaus Meisel (ab 1988)

 

1980er Jahre

Der Wissenschaftsrat empfiehlt einen Ausbau des Instituts mit der Begründung, die pädagogische Arbeitsstelle gebe der Erwachsenenbildungsforschung wichtige Impulse und übernehme die Funktion eines Katalysators (1984).

Weiterentwicklung des Publikationsprogramms (Reihen „Theorie und Praxis der Erwachsenenbildung“ und „berichte-materialien-planungshilfen“, Dokumentationen zur Geschichte der EB, Loseblattsammlung „Die Volkshochschule – Handbuch für die Praxis der VHS-Leiter und -Mitarbeiter“, Unterrichtsmedien-Dienst, VHS Kurs- und Lehrgangsdienst, Kursbegleitendes Unterrichtsmaterial Zertifikate).

Entwicklungsorientierte eigene Forschung zu Fragen der Bildungsarbeit mit so genannten Randgruppen wie Ausländer/innen, Arbeitslosen oder Analphabeten. Mit der Forschungsausrichtung auf Gesundheits- und Umweltbildung reagiert das Institut auf gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen und Herausforderungen.

Ausbau der Bibliothek und der Dokumentation.

Institutsleitung:

Direktor: Prof. Dr. Hans Tietgens; Stellv. Direktor/in: Gabriele Kallmeyer (1980), Herbert Bohn (1981 bis 1982), Dr. Monika Völker (1983 bis 1986), Klaus Pehl (1986 bis 1987), Klaus Meisel (ab 1988)

 

1970er Jahre

Anregung und Unterstützung der Professionalisierungsbemühungen der Volkshochschulen insbesondere durch die Entwicklung und Einführung eines Zertifikatsprogramms (im Sprachenbereich und Mathematik/Naturwissenschaften) sowie durch die Durchführung eines Seminarprogramms zur Berufseinführung hauptberuflicher pädagogischer Mitarbeiter/innen und die Entwicklung und Publizierung eines differenzierten Selbststudienmaterials.

Aufbau und Betrieb einer Prüfungszentrale für das Zertifikatsprogramm. Unterstützung der EB-Forschung; Förderung von Forschungsprojekten, insbes. der historischen Forschung.

Aufnahme in die institutionelle Finanzierung durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Wissenschaft (1971) und in die gemeinsame Forschungsförderung von Bund und Ländern, die so genannte „Blaue Liste“ (1976). In diesem Jahrzehnt erfährt das Institut politische Unterstützung und kann personell und finanziell deutlich wachsen. Neuausrichtung der internen Organisation und des Managements: Trennung nach institutionell geförderten Aufgaben und Projektförderung, Gliederung nach Fachbereichen, Zertifikatsabteilungen und der Prüfungszentrale.

Institutsleitung:

Direktor: Prof. Dr. Hans Tietgens (ab 1978 Professur an der Universität Marburg); Stellv. Direktor/in: Dr. Volker Otto (1974 bis 1976), Albert Pflüger (1977 bis 1978), Gabriele Kallmeyer (1979)

 

1960er Jahre

Start des Publikationsprogramms, Aufbau von Publikationsreihen (Theorie und Praxis der Erwachsenenbildung, Materialien zur Erwachsenenbildung, Bibliographien zur Erwachsenenbildung).

Entwicklung und Einführung der Volkshochschul-Statistik. Die erste offizielle Volkshochschul-Statistik bezieht sich auf das Berichtsjahr 1962. Unterstützung der Volkshochschularbeit und des fachlichen Austausches durch die Entwicklung von Arbeits- und Unterrichtsmaterialien (spez. Loseblattsammlung „Handbuch für die Praxis des VHS-Leiters und Mitarbeiters“) sowie die Einrichtung und Unterstützung von Fachkommissionen und Arbeitskreisen zu verschiedenen Themenfeldern.

Erweiterung der Bibliothek und Ausbau der Dokumentation und Archive. Erwerb und Aufarbeitung von Nachlässen bedeutender Weiterbildner. Einrichtung eines Arbeitsplanarchivs der Volkshochschulen. Unterstützung wissenschaftlicher Forschungsarbeiten zu Themen der Erwachsenenbildung. Erste Schritte internationaler Zusammenarbeit.

Direktor: Dr. Hans Tietgens (ab 1960 nach der Berufung Dr. Strelewitz auf eine Professur für Soziologie an der Pädagogischen Hochschule Hannover, später Universität Hannover).

 

1950er Jahre

Gegründet wird das Institut 1957 in Frankfurt/Main unter dem Namen "Pädagogische Arbeitsstelle des Deutschen Volkshochschul-Verbandes" (PAS).

Aufgabenstellung laut Bericht der PAS aus dem Jahr 1959: Grundlegende Schritte in der Entwicklung auf ein Institut hin, das

  • der wissenschaftlichen Forschung über Erwachsenenbildung,
  • der Planung der Arbeit und
  • der systematischen Aus- und Weiterbildung der Mitarbeitenden dient.

Im Mittelpunkt der inhaltlichen Arbeit steht in den ersten Jahren die Frage der Qualität der Programmgestaltung, der Methoden und insbesondere der Qualifikation der Kursleiterinnen und Kursleiter an den deutschen Volkshochschulen. Aufbau einer Bibliothek und Dokumentation der Volkshochschularbeit.

Direktor: Dr. Willy Strelewitz

 

Letzte Änderung: 07/21/2017