The DIE is a registered association. In accordance with its articles of association, the DIE has three committees: General Assembly, Board of Directors and Administrative Board. The General Assembly elects three representatives each from the fields of research and practice for the Adminstrative Board, which supervises the institute's legality, expedience and efficiency. Consisting of two directors, the Board of Directors manages the institute, administrates the association, and represents the Leibniz-Association.

General Assembly

Board of Directors

Management Council

Administrative Board

  • President RBr Dr. Michael H. Wappelhorst, Ministry for Culture and Research of the Federal State North-Rhine Westphalia (MKW)
  • Vice-President Prof. Dr. Isabell von Ackeren, University Duisburg-Essen
  • Dr. Friedrun Erben, Arbeitskreis deutscher Bildungsstätten e. V.
  • Mirco Fretter, Forum DistancE-Learning
  • Gundula Frieling, Deutscher Volkshochschul-Verband e.V. (DVV)
  • Michael Glatz, German Protestant Consortium for Adult Education (DEAE)
  • MinDirig Thomas Greiner, Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF)
  • Dr. Beate Hörr, German Association for University Continuing and Distance Education (DGWF)
  • RD'in Dr. Jutta Illichmann, Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF)
  • Prof. Dr. Eckhard Klieme, DIPF | Leibniz Institute for Research and Information in Education
  • Karin Langenkamp, Bibliothek & Information Deutschland e.V (BID)
  • Ulf Rautenstrauch, Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs (KMK)
  • Prof. Dr. Bernhard Schmidt-Hertha, German Educational Research Association (DGfE)

Advisory Board

  • President Prof. Dr. Christiane Hof,Johann Wolfgang Goethe University Frankfurt
  • Vice President Prof. Dr. Harm Kuper, Free University of Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Ralf Bergold, Catholic Federal Organisation of Adult Education (KEB)
  • Dr. Ellen Boeren, University of Glasgow
  • Prof. Dr. John Field, University of Stirling
  • Prof. Dr. Julia Franz, Otto Friedrich University Bamberg
  • Prof. Dr. Ingrid Gogolin, University of Hamburg
  • Prof. Dr. Marcus Hasselhorn, DIPF | Leibniz Institute for Research and Information in Education
  • Dr. Ulrich Heinemann, Ruhr University Bochum
  • Prof. Dr. Friedrich Hesse, University of Tübingen
  • Prof. Dr. Aiga von Hippel, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrich Klemm, Adult Education Association of Saxony
  • Ulrich Nordhaus, German Trade Union Confederation (DGB) federal executive board
  • Ulrike Obermayr, Industrial Union of Metalworkers (IG Metall)
  • Prof. Dr. Stephan L. Thomsen, Leibniz University Hannover
  • Prof. Dr. Klaus Tochtermann, German National Library of Economics/Leibniz Information Centre for Economics


Kurzlink zu dieser Seite: