The DIE is linked with universities, extramural research institutes and institutions of continuing education on a national and international level. An important and traditional cooperation is based on the institute’s origin as the former Institute of Didactics of Adult Education (PAS) of the German Adult Education Association (DVV). Even today, the DIE is deeply rooted in that tradition.The institute became the German Institute of Adult Education (DIE) in 1997. Other traditional cooperations exist with associations and institutions of denominational adult education, residential adult education centres, the National Committee Work and Life and academic continuing education at universities and colleges.

Cooperation agreements confirm the special bond between the DIE, the University of Duisburg-Essen and the University of Marburg. The Scientific Director also holds the chair for adult education at the University of Tuebingen.

On an international scale, the institute has various and intense working relations through networks and individual contacts. As a German extramural research and infrastructural institution of adult education, the DIE suggests international discourses for national contexts and introduces German developments from practice and research into the international discussion.

The DIE

  • is involved in European networks and associations,
  • is committed to adult education within Europe as well as outside Europe – e.g. the coordination of the network „Professionalisation“ in the Research Hub for Lifelong Learning Asia – Europe Meeting (ASEM),
  • advises institutions of adult education abroad,
  • is an experienced partner in many transnational projects,
  • cooperates with research institutions abroad, and
  • is a contact for issues of adult education in Germany.

Contact

Letzte Änderung: 28/06/2017

Das DIE ist national und international mit Hochschulen, außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen und Institutionen der Weiterbildungspraxis vernetzt. Eine wichtige Kooperationsbeziehung ergibt sich historisch aus der Tatsache, dass das DIE 1997 aus der Pädagogischen Arbeitsstelle des Deutschen Volkshochschul-Verbandes e.V. (DVV) hervorgegangen ist. Auch heute steht das DIE explizit in dieser Tradition. Darüber hinaus bestehen historisch gewachsene Partnerschaften und Kooperationsbeziehungen mit Verbänden und Einrichtungen der konfessionellen Erwachsenenbildung, mit Heimvolkshochschulen, der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Arbeit und Leben und der wissenschaftlichen Weiterbildung an Hochschulen.

Durch Kooperationsverträge gefestigte besondere Verbindungen bestehen mit der Universität Duisburg-Essen und der Philipps-Universität Marburg. Die wissenschaftliche Direktorin des DIE ist zugleich Professorin für Erwachsenenbildung im Institut für Berufs- und Weiterbildung der Universität Duisburg-Essen, der wissenschaftliche Direktor Professor für Erwachsenenbildung/Weiterbildung an der Eberhard-Karls-Universität Tübingen.

Auch ins Ausland bestehen über Netzwerke und Einzelkontakte zahlreiche und zum Teil sehr intensive Arbeitsbeziehungen. Als deutsche außerhochschulische Forschungs- und Infrastruktureinrichtung der Erwachsenenbildung vermittelt das DIE internationale Diskurse in nationale Zusammenhänge und bringt die deutschen Entwicklungen aus Wissenschaft und Praxis in die internationale Diskussion ein.

Das DIE

  • beteiligt sich in europäischen Netzwerken und Verbänden,
  • engagiert sich in der Erwachsenenbildung in Europa und über die Grenzen Europas hinaus, u.a. mit der Koordination des Netzwerks „Professionalisation“ im Research Hub for Lifelong Learning Asia – Europe Meeting (ASEM),
  • berät Einrichtungen der Erwachsenenbildung aus anderen Ländern,
  • ist erfahrener Partner in zahlreichen transnationalen Projekten,
  • kooperiert mit Forschungsinstitutionen im Ausland und
  • ist Ansprechpartner für Fragen zur deutschen Erwachsenenbildung.

Kontakt

Letzte Änderung: 03/21/2017