What lies ahead?

The 32nd International conference on examining historical sources in adult education is scheduled for November 5-6, 2018 in Vienna. It is organised by the Austrian Adult Education Archive (ÖVA) in cooperation with the German Institute for Adult Education (DIE). It deals with issues such as access to historical reasearch in the field of national education, adult education and popularisation of science.

Following the 31st conference, which took place in 2016 in Bonn, this year's topic covers the historiography/historicity of adult education in a wider context. In addition to a methodological and theoretical approach, key questions, an overview of the status quo of historical sources and the corresponding archive situation, the focus will be on the commemorative culture and continuous dimension of adult education.

Call for Papers

In the past

The conference took place on May 23-25, 2016 at the German Institute for Adult Education - Leibniz Centre for Lifelong Learning (DIE) in Bonn. It was organised by the Austrian Adult Education Archive in cooperation with the DIE. The conference was financially supported bythe German Adult Education Association (DVV) and organised by Klaus Heuer (DIE).

Key issues were: How can the current status of safekeeping, documentatione and interpretations of central developments in adult education be evaluated from the perspectives of historiography and history strengthenind memory? To what extent will history deal with issues of historical science and methodology? To what extent is historical adult education research independent within a pedagogigal context? To what exttent do the particular requirements of the present co-determine the understanding of history and how is that discussed in theory and practice? Are specific archives on the collection of historical sources necessary to establish an informed and broadly based culture of memory, and to justify and further develop historical awareness of the achievements of adult education, but also alternatives that have not been realised?

For 30 years, the conference has been the event for German-speaking researchers and practitioners of adult education to exchange views and help construct a specific culture of memory with their discussions. In 2016, a generation change of contemporary eye-witnesses took place. These eye-witnesses see themselves as academic practitioners, and regard the promotion of historical awareness as guidance for their own practice. The change provided the opportunity to take stock of previous conferences in a biographical and specialist approach. Testimony was presented in a moderated round table discussion with long-standing participants and contributors, but was also critically questioned in a theoretical contribution regarding the change in testimony and its future character.

Expert topics

A discourse informed about the state of historical adult education research with a focus on a limited choice of subjects and key research desiderata. Additional contributions presented theses on the unexplained relation betwee adult education and the historical sciences, trends of migration of historical research on adult education into other disciplines, including, for example, the history of culture and mentality, in a literature review.

A third focus was on presentations of current examples of the existing awareness of history in adult education practice, e.g. in jubilee publications and exhibitions, as well as research reports on current academic historical studies, e.g. in dissertations. The conference aimed at gaining a more precise understanding of the relationship between the culture of memory and historical awareness, of their specific complementarity when established, but also as a dimension of continuity for adult education, as well as developing and implementing approaches for their consolidation.

Subject areas and speakers


I.    Keynote: History and change  in the cultural significance of testimony in adult education (Horst Siebert)

II.    Moderated round table on  testimony (Bernhard Schossig - moderator; Dorothea Braun-Ribbat; Wilhelm Filla, Jörg Wollenberg, Anne-Christel Recknagel, Erhard Schlutz - witnesses)

III.    Historical summary and results – highlights of previous conferences (Stephan Ganglbauer)

IV.    Adult education and history as an academic subject – an unexplained relationship? (Christian H. Stifter)

V.    Research on the history of adult education – limitations and requirements (Wilhelm Filla)

VI.    The disciplinary migration of historical debate with the history of adult education (Klaus Heuer)

VII.    Living historical awareness – case studies from adult education practice (open submission)

VIII.    Recent academic theses and papers – research reports (open submission)

Programm (PDF)

last changed 5/29/2018

Was kommt?

Vom 5.-6. November 2018 findet in Wien die 32. Internationale Konferenz zur Aufarbeitung historischer Quellen der Erwachsenenbildung statt. Veranstalter sind auch dieses Mal wieder das Österreichische Volkshochschularchiv (ÖVA) in Kooperation mit dem DIE. Diesmal geht es um Zugänge zur historischen Forschung im Bereich der Volksbildung, Erwachsenenbildung und Wissenschaftspopularisierung.

In Anknüpfung an die 31. Konferenz, die im Jahr 2016 in Bonn stattfand, soll diesmal der Frage nach der Historiografie/Historizität der Erwachsenenbildung in einem erweiterten Kontext nachgegangen werden. Neben methodisch-theoretischen Zugängen, zentralen Fragestellungen, dem Überblick über den Status quo im Bereich historischer Quellen und der korresponierenden Archivsituation, wird auch die Erinnerungskultur und die kontinuitätsstiftende Dimension für die Erwachsenenbildung untersucht.

Call for Papers

Was war?

Die Konferenz fand vom 23.-25. Mai 2016 im Deutschen Institut für Erwachsenenbildung Leibniz Zentrum für Lebenslanges Lernen e.V. in Bonn statt. Träger waren das Österreichische Volkshochschularchiv und das Deutsche Institut für Erwachsenenbildung - Leibniz Zentrum für Lebenslanges Lernen e. V. als neuer Kooperationspartner und organisatorisch federführend. Die Durchführung der Veranstaltung wurde vom Deutschen Volkshochschul-Verband (DVV) gefördert.

Zentrale Fragen und Themen der Konferenz waren: Wie ist der Stand der Aufbewahrung, Dokumentation und Interpretation zentraler Entwicklungslinien in der Erwachsenenbildung aus historiographischer und das historische Gedächtnis stärkender Perspektive einzuschätzen? Inwieweit wird diese Geschichte mit geschichtswissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen und Methoden bearbeitet? Inwieweit gibt es eine pädagogisch zu definierende Eigenständigkeit der historischen Erwachsenenbildungsforschung? Inwieweit bestimmen die jeweiligen Gegenwartserfordernisse das Geschichtsverständnis mit und wie wird das in Theorie und Praxis diskutiert? Sind spezifische Archive zur Sammlung historischer Quellen notwendig, um eine fundierte und breite Erinnerungskultur zu etablieren und ein historisches Bewusstsein der Leistungen der Erwachsenenbildung, aber auch nicht realisierter Alternativen, zu begründen und weiterzuentwickeln?

Die Konferenz ist seit 30 Jahren der Ort, an dem deutschsprachige Forschende und Praktiker der Erwachsenenbildung sich austauschen und mit ihren Fachgesprächen eine spezifische Erinnerungskultur aufzubauen helfen. 2016 stand ein Generationswechsel der Zeitzeuginnen und Zeitzeugen an, die sich als wissenschaftliche Praktiker verstehen und die Förderung des Geschichtsbewusstseins als Orientierung eben auch für ihre Praxis ansehen. Dieser Wandel wurde zum Anlass genommen, auch Bilanz über die bisherigen Konferenzen zu ziehen in einem biografischen und fachwissenschaftlichen Modus. Zeitzeugenschaft wurde durch eine moderierte Gesprächsrunde mit langjährigen Teilnehmenden und Referenten präsentiert, und mit einem theoriebezogenen Beitrag zum Wandel der Zeitzeugenschaft und ihrer Gestalt in der Zukunft kritisch hinterfragt.

Fachwissenschaftliche Themenstellungen

Ein Vortrag informierte über den Stand der historischen Erwachsenenbildungsforschung mit dem Fokus auf Engführungen in der Gegenstandswahl und zentrale Forschungsdesiderata. In weiteren Beiträgen wurden Thesen zum ungeklärten Verhältnis der Erwachsenenbildung zur historischen Fachwissenschaft und Tendenzen der Abwanderung der historischen Forschung zur Erwachsenenbildung in andere Disziplinen, wie z. B. der Kultur- und Mentalitätsgeschichte, anhand eines Literaturüberblicks vorgestellt.

Den dritten Schwerpunkt bildeten Präsentationen aktueller Beispiele gelebten Geschichtsbewusstseins in der Erwachsenenbildungspraxis, z. B. in Festschriften und Ausstellungen, und Forschungsberichten über aktuelle wissenschaftliche historische Untersuchungen, wie etwa in Dissertationen.
Fokus der Konferenz war es, das Verhältnis zwischen Erinnerungskultur und Geschichtsbewusstsein, ihr spezifisches Ergänzungsverhältnis in der Etablierung, aber auch als kontinuitätsstiftende Dimension für die Erwachsenenbildung, genauer zu erfassen und Ansätze ihrer Verstetigung zu entwickeln und zu leben.

 

Themenbereiche und Referenten

I.    Keynote: Geschichte und Wandel der kulturellen Bedeutung von ZeitzeugInnenschaft in der Erwachsenenbildung (Horst Siebert)

II.    Moderierte ZeitzeugInnengesprächsrunde (Bernhard Schossig als Moderator angefragt; Dorothea Braun-Ribbat; Wilhelm Filla, Jörg Wollenberg, Anne-Christel Recknagel, Erhard Schlutz als ZeitzeugInnen angefragt)

III.    Historischer Abriss und Ergebnisse – Schlaglichter auf die bisherigen Konferenzen (Stephan Ganglbauer)

IV.    Erwachsenenbildung und historische Fachwissenschaft – ein ungeklärtes Verhältnis? (Christian H. Stifter)

V.    Forschung über die Geschichte der Erwachsenenbildung – Engführungen und Desiderata (Wilhelm Filla)

VI.    Disziplinäre Migration historischer Auseinandersetzungen mit EB-Geschichte (Klaus Heuer)

VII.    Gelebtes Geschichtsbewusstsein – Fallbeispiele aus der EB-Praxis (offene Ausschreibung)

VIII.    Rezente akademische Abschlussarbeiten und Fachbeiträge – Forschungsberichte (offene Ausschreibung)

 

Programm (PDF)

Letzte Änderung 29.05.2018