Within the structured postgraduate education (SDA) programme, the DIE supports doctoral candidates during their dissertation process. This structured postgraduate education aims at promoting young scholars in acquiring academically relevant and workplace-related competences. It supports their academic work and prepares them for an academic or practical career in adult and continuing education.

The SDA's basic components include: (1) a three-year structured programme, which consists of basic, mandatory and optional modules, (2) comprehensive and temporally limited assistance, and (3) additional cross-institutional programmes, which are provided in cooperation with universities and other research institutions.

SDA graduates are expected to develop the following skills and experiences within the DIE structured postgraduate education:

  • experience in planning, managing, conducting and evaluating educational research projects
  • a wide range of fundamental knowledge of theoretical and methodological empirical education research (qualitative and quantitative)
  • detailed knowledge of theories, methodology and processes in their individual fields
  • independent preparation of research contributions
  • didactic skills for presenting and communicating educational findings at national and international conferences as well as in academic journals.

Modules

The education programme is generally designed for a three-year period and contains a precise draft of specific education objectives for this period in the framework curriculum.

The programme is cross-institional, as courses, which are compatible to the SDA curriculum and provided by other institutions and universities, can be attended. It contains three types of courses:

  • Basic modules create a broad research base on research paradigmatic and conceptual basics, as well as methodology and processes of empirical education research. Participation in two basic modules is mandatory. The objective is a deeper understanding of empirical research as well as application knowledge, which allows an independent approach to empirical (qualitative and quantitative) data.
  • Optional compulsory modules meet the individual demands with regard to the dissertation project or other research interests. Two optional compulsory modules are provided. The objective is to establish knowledge and skills for the individual research focus on a level, which permits independent work on the individual research issue.
  • Optional modules serve to develop general, interdisciplinary skills i.e. in the form of individual competence training, the development of research key competences, as well as for career planning and counselling. Participation in these modules is optional.

The scientific supervision of the doctoral candidates monitors the dissertation project and includes

  • regular advisory colloquia, in which candidates present their project twice during the three-year period,
  • evaluation of and feedback to manuscripts and dissertation within six weeks,
  • counselling on memberships in professional and trade associations,
  • annual exchange about recommended conferences, seminars and publication strategy,
  • two annual work meetings on the dissertation status quo,
  • monitoring of systematic dissertation process as well as comment on time and work plans.

Contact

Dr. Inga Specht

Letzte Änderung: 05/09/2017

Die strukturierte Doktorandenausbildung (SDA) am DIE unterstützt als Teil der Nachwuchsförderung Promovierende bei der Anfertigung ihrer Qualifikationsarbeit. Ziel der strukturierten Doktorandenausbildung am DIE ist es, den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs im Erwerb wissenschaftlich relevanter und arbeitsplatzbezogener Kompetenzen zu fördern, ihre wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten zu begleiten und sie auf eine Laufbahn in Wissenschaft oder Praxis der Erwachsenen-/Weiterbildung vorzubereiten.

Zu den Grundbestandteilen der integrierten SDA zählen: (1.) ein zeitlich über drei Jahre strukturiertes Kursangebot, das sich aus Basis-, Wahlpflicht- und Optionalmodul-Politik zusammensetzt, (2.) umfangreiche und zeitlich verpflichtende Betreuungsleistungen und (3.) ergänzende institutionenübergreifende Angebote, die gemeinsam mit Universitäten und anderen Forschungseinrichtungen vorgehalten werden.

Folgende Fähigkeiten und Erfahrungen sollen Absolventinnen und Absolventen der SDA im Rahmen der strukturierten Doktorandenausbildung am DIE aufbauen:

  • Erfahrungen in der Planung, Leitung, Durchführung und Auswertung bildungswissenschaftlicher Forschungsprojekte
  • Ein breites Grundlagenwissen im Bereich der Theorien und Methoden der empirischen Bildungsforschung (quantitativ und qualitativ)
  • Vertiefende Kenntnisse zu Theorien, Methoden und Verfahren in ihrem jeweiligen Spezialisierungsbereich
  • Erarbeitung eigenständiger Forschungsbeiträge
  • Didaktische Fähigkeiten zur Darstellung und Kommunikation von bildungswissenschaftlicher Befunde auf nationalen und internationalen Konferenzen sowie in wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften

 

Die Module

Das Ausbildungsprogramm ist auf eine Regelzeit von drei Jahren ausgelegt und formuliert für diesen Zeitraum im Rahmenlehrplan konkrete Ausbildungsziele.

Das Kursangebot ist institutionsübergreifend angelegt, so dass auch mit dem SDA-Curriculum vereinbare Veranstaltungen an anderen Einrichtungen und Universitäten besucht werden können. Es umfasst drei Kursarten:

  • Basismodule dienen der Schaffung einer breiten forscherischen Grundbasis zu den forschungsparadigmatischen und konzeptionellen Grundlagen sowie den Methoden und Verfahren der empirischen Bildungsforschung. Die Teilnahme an zwei Basismodulen ist verpflichtend. Ziele sind ein vertieftes Verständnis empirischer Forschungsarbeiten sowie Anwendungskenntnisse, die den eigenständigen Umgang mit empirischen (qualitativen und quantitativen) Daten erlaubt.
  • Wahlpflichtmodule dienen der individuellen Bedarfsdeckung in Bezug auf das Dissertationsvorhaben oder auf sonstige Forschungsinteressen. Die Wahl von zwei Pflichtmodulen ist vorgesehen. Ziel ist es, Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten für den eigenen Forschungsschwerpunkt auf einem Niveau zu erarbeiten, das die eigenverantwortliche Bearbeitung der jeweiligen Forschungsfragen erlaubt.
  • Optionsmodule dienen dem Erwerb allgemeiner, überfachlicher Fähigkeiten beispielsweise in Form von individuellen Kompetenztrainings, der Entwicklung forscherischer Schlüsselkompetenzen sowie der Karriereplanung und -beratung. Die Teilnahme an Optionsmodulen ist freiwillig.

Die wissenschaftliche Betreuung der Promovierenden dient der Steuerung des Promotionsvorhabens und umfasst u. a.

  • das regelmäßige Angebot von Beratungskolloquien, in denen Promovierende zweimal im Laufe der Promotionszeit präsentieren.
  • die Begutachtung von und Rückmeldung zu Manuskripten und der Dissertation innerhalb von spätestens 6 Wochen.
  • die Beratung zu Mitgliedschaften in Berufs- und Fachverbänden.
  • der mindestens einmal jährliche Austausch über zu besuchende Konferenzen und Schulungen sowie über die Veröffentlichungsstrategie.
  • zwei Arbeitsgespräche pro Jahr zum aktuellen Stand der Dissertationsarbeiten.
  • Das Monitoring des planmäßigen Fortgangs der Dissertation sowie die Kommentierung der Zeit- und Arbeitspläne.

 

Kontakt

Dr. Inga Specht

 

 

Letzte Änderung: 09/05/2017